sol, “The bugler,” Mr. James Powell; tenor solo, “Bwthyn bach melyn fy nhad,” Mr. Wm. Griffiths; treble solo, “Y fam a’i baban,” Miss Mary Powell; baritone solo, “Forth to the battle,” Mr. Mial Williams; solo. “Rocked in the cradle of the deep,” Mr. Ben Lewis, accompanied by Mr. John Randle; duet, violin and piano, Messrs. Isaac Thomas and Ben Lewis; baritone solo, “Can y marchog,” Mr. Thomas Evans; solo, “Darby and Joan,” Miss Thomas (Penybank School); tenor solo, “Death of Nelson,” Mr. Burkley Angell; party, “Blodeuyn bach wyf fi mewn gardd,” conducted by Mr. John Jones, A.C.; overture, piano, Miss Kent Jones; bass solo, “Simon the cellarer,” Mr. James Powell; treble solo, “The song that reached my heart,” Miss Ellen Pugh; baritone solo, “Y morwr a’i fachgen,” Mr. Thomas Evans; tenor solo, “O na byddai’n haf o hyd,” Mr. Wm. Griffiths; baritone solo, “She must be mine,” Mr. Mial Williams; duet, violin and piano, Messrs. I. Thomas & B. Lewis; treble solo, “Angels ever bright and fair,” Miss M. Powell; tenor solo, “Baner ein gwlad,” Mr. B. Angell; bass solo, “The little hero,” Mr. J. Powell; baritone solo, “The village blacksmith,” Mr. B. Lewis.

“Merthyr Express” 28 July 1894
Rechabite Demonstration   On Saturday afternoon last, the three Rechabite tents of Fochriw - Adult, Female, Juvenile - held a demonstration. The demonstration started from Carmel Vestry in the following order: Heading the procession were Brothers Dr. E. Davies; Rev. J. Jones & Mr. T. Jenkins; then the Fochriw Brass Band; then adults, females and juveniles numbering between 100 and 150. After parading the principal streets, the processionists wended their way to Nazareth Chapel  where a tea party was held. The tables were very neatly decorated with flower, and were superintended by the following ladies: Miss Jones and Mrs. Williams, Mrs. Sibly and Mrs. M. A. Thomas, Mrs. E. James (Guest-street) and Mrs. M. Arthur. Valuable assistance was also rendered by Mrs. G. Pugh, Mrs. M. Jones, Mrs. E. Jones, Messrs. E. Parry, W. Adams & Rees Thomas. In the evening at 8 o’clock, a public temperance meeting was held, the chair being held by Rev. Evan Morgan, the newly elected pastor of the C. M. Church at Fochriw. The programme consisted of addresses, songs and recitations when the following Fochriw people took part: Rev. T. Jones, W. Adams, James Davies, W. T. Angell, Rhys Jenkins, Rees Thomas, and Misses S. A. Davies, E. Ballard, M. A. Lewis, Martha Davies, Catherine Lewis. After the usual votes of thanks, the meeting terminated

12 September 1908  Temperance Tea and Parade   On Saturday afternoon, the members of the Independent Order of the Rechabites and of the International Order of Good Templars, paraded the streets of Fochriw and Pentwyn headed by the Fochriw Brass Band, under the conductorship of Mr. William Powell. After the parade, a tea was held at Carmel Vestry, to which a large number did ample justice. The tables were presided over and assistance rendered by the following: Misses M. A. Lewis, Catherine Jones, S. J. Lewis, Mrs. Martha Griffiths, Miss Maggie Griffiths, Miss E. Evans, Mrs. I. Roderick, Mrs. David Griffiths, Mrs. H. Howell Thomas, Mrs. S. Ballard, Mrs. Griffiths (Brook-row), Mrs. Howell Thomas, Mrs. Martha Thomas, Mrs. Morgan (Pentwyn). Assistance was also rendered by the following gentleman: Messrs. W. L. Wright, J. Lewis, P. Jenkins, James Williams, S. Lewis, C. Ballard, S. Ballard, and James Davies. An interesting temperance lecturer was afterwards given in the vestry by the Rev. R. S. Rogers, Pontlottyn. Mr. T. Llewellyn, Martin's-street, presided over a large and appreciative audience. The lecturer, who was cordially received, plunged into his subject with real earnestness. He was listened to with rapt attention, and his witty remarks elicited rounds of applause. Votes of thanks to the rev. gentleman and to the chairman brought an enjoyable evening to a close.

Money Club – Rising Sun Inn & White Horse Inn

“Merthyr Express” 1 December 1900
Supper   On Saturday evening, a supper in connection with the money club was held at the Rising Sun Inn, when Mr. Howell Thomas presided over a good attendance. Mrs. S. Morgan, the genial hostess, catered excellently, and all enjoyed themselves. After the cloth had been removed, a short programme was gone through, when songs etc. were rendered by Messrs. D. Williams, John Evans, W. Griffiths, John Davies, and D. Prosser, while Messrs. Howell Thomas and Thomas Evans delivered short addresses. The officers for next year are: President – Mr. Howell Thomas; secretary – Mr. John Evans; treasurer – Mr. D. J. Morgan. The next meeting will be held on December 22nd at the same place.